Democratic National Convention
 Staples Center in Los Angeles    August 14-17, 2000 
News Coverage of Aug. 15
Aug. 14    Main    Aug. 16
  Tuesday, Aug. 15, 2000 -- "New Heights: You Ain't Seen Nothing Yet"
  1:00 p.m.
Terrence McAuliffe
Chair, Democratic National Convention, with Dori, Jack and Mary McAuliffe 

Presentation of Colors
University of Southern California ROTC 

Dr. Maher Hathout of Los Angeles, California
The Islamic Center of Southern California 

National Anthem 
Jennifer Powers of Evanston, Illinois 
Miss Illinois 2000. Powers is also the granddaughter of David Francis Powers, who was a close friend of President John F. Kennedy’s. 

Los Lobos


The Honorable Richard Durbin
United States Senator, Illinois and Co-Chair, Platform Committee

The Honorable Sharon Sayles Belton 
Mayor of Minneapolis, Minnesota and Co-Chair, Platform Committee

The Honorable Jack Reed
United States Senator, Rhode Island and Vice Chair, Platform Committee 

The Honorable James Hunt, Jr. 
Governor of North Carolina 
Vice Chair, Platform Committee and Chair, Platform Drafting Committee

The Honorable Jim Davis
U.S. House of Representatives, Florida and Member, Platform Committee 

Marlene Davis 
Member, Platform Committee 

2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. 

The Honorable Ruben Ramos
Member, Platform Committee 

The Honorable Jay Inslee
U.S. House of Representatives, Washingto

The Honorable Jack Ellis 
Mayor of Macon, Georgia and Member, Platform Committee

The Honorable Patty Judge
Secretary of Agriculture, Iowa and Convention Parliamentarian

The Honorable Tom Menino
Mayor of Boston, Massachusetts 

The Honorable Bill Purcell 
Mayor of Nashville, Tennessee and Member, Platform Drafting Committee 

Richard Trumka 
Secretary-Treasurer, AFL-CIO and President, United Mine Workers 

The Honorable Eddie Bernice Johnson
U.S. House of Representatives, Texas 

The Honorable Raymond Sanchez
Speaker of the House, New Mexico Legislature 


The Honorable Bob Butterworth 
Attorney General of Florida and Vice Chair, Platform Committee 

The Honorable Eleanor Holmes Norton 
U.S. House of Representatives, District of Columbia and Vice Chair, Platform Committee 

The Honorable Tom Miller
Attorney General of Iowa 

The Honorable Janet Napolitano 
Attorney General of Arizona

The Honorable Tim Roemer
U.S. House of Representatives, Indiana 

The Honorable Yvonne Braithwaite Burke
Supervisor, Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors

The Honorable Tammy Baldwin 
U.S. House of Representatives, Wisconsin

The Honorable Karen Thurman
U.S. House of Representatives, Florida 

The Honorable Nita Lowey
U.S. House of Representatives, New York

Kristina Kiehl of San Francisco, California 
Founder and Democratic Chair, Voters for Choice and Member, Platform Committee

Robert F. Kennedy Jr. 
Chief Prosecuting Attorney, Hudson Riverkeeper Fund
Senior Attorney, Natural Resources Defense Council 
Professor of Environmental Law, Pace University

The Honorable Russell Feingold
United States Senator, Wisconsin

The Honorable Martin Meehan
U.S. House of Representatives, Massachusetts

The Honorable David Wu
U.S. House of Representatives, Oregon

Reverend Susan Johnson Cook
Pastor, Bronx Christian Fellowship & President, New York Coalition of 100 Black Women 

Maria Elena Durazo of Los Angeles, California
President, Local 11 of the Hotel Employees and Restaurant Employees Union

The Honorable Pedro Rossello
Governor of Puerto Rico


The Honorable Jane Harman 
Candidate for the U.S. House of Representatives, California 

The Honorable Earl Blumenauer
U.S. House of Representatives, Oregon 

The Honorable Grace Napolitano 
U.S. House of Representatives, California 

The Honorable Norman Dicks
U.S. House of Representatives, Washington 

The Honorable Kathleen Kennedy Townsend
Lieutenant Governor of Maryland

The Honorable Tom Carper
Governor of Delaware and Candidate for the United States Senate 

The Honorable Daniel Inouye
United States Senator, Hawaii

The Honorable John Edwards
United States Senator, North Carolina

The Honorable Norman Mineta
United States Secretary of Commerce

  5:00 p.m.
Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts Honor Guard 

Pledge of Allegiance 
Hector Elizando with children representing the Boys and Girls Club of America 

The National Anthem 
Pat Morita 


The Honorable Lucille Roybal-Allard 
U.S. House of Representatives, California and Chair, Congressional Hispanic Caucus

Missy Jenkins of Paducah, Kentucky & Dr. Roy Douglas of Los Angeles, CA
Paralyzed in the December 1, 1997 Paducah school shooting, Jenkins is learning to walk again with the help of Douglas, a physician with the Dynamics Spinal Cord Rehabilitation Unit in Los Angeles.

The Honorable Ed Rendell
General Chair, Democratic National Committee

Joe Andrew
National Chair, Democratic National Committee

Elizabeth Birch
Executive Director, Human Rights Campaign

Kate Michelman
President, National Abortion and Reproductive Rights Action League (NARAL)

Gerald McEntee
President, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME)

The Reverend Jesse Jackson, Sr.
Founder, President and Chief Executive Officer, Rainbow/PUSH Coalition

The Honorable Tom Daschle
United States Senator, South Dakota and Senate Democratic Leader


The Honorable Evan Bayh
United States Senator and Former Governor, Indiana

Susan Fadley of Columbus, Ohio
Fadley teaches special education and kindergarten students at Avondale Elementary School. Earlier this year, Vice President Gore visited her school and stayed overnight with the Fadley family, discussing the importance of preschool and Head Start.

Jesse Milan, Jr. of Baltimore, Maryland 
Milan serves as the Project Director of the Center for Disease Control’s National Prevention Information Network (NPIN), which distributes is responsible for distributing health information to the nation on HIV, sexually transmitted diseases, and tuberculosis. A former director of Philadelphia’s AIDS Activities Coordinating Office, Milan is an attorney and health communications specialist as well as a noted speaker on AIDS law and civil rights issues. 

Hans Reimer of Washington, D.C. 
Reimer is the Founder of the 2030 Center, a public policy organization focusing on economic security issues. The name "2030" refers to both the people in their 20’s and 30’s that the Center serves and the demographic benchmark year 2030. 

Christine Senteno of Los Angeles, California 
Thanks to the policies of the Clinton-Gore Administration, Senteno, a working mother of three, is able to both raise her children and work towards a Masters in Journalism. She is a beneficiary of the Child Care Tax Credit, the Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC), and the College Opportunity tax credit. She support Vice President’s Gore’s target tax cut plans which will give her a tax cut of $1800. Under Governor Bush’s plan she would get back just $65.

Mary Jo West of Phoenix, Arizona
An Emmy award-winning local television news anchor, West was diagnosed with and treated for clinical depression in the 1980’s. After a recurrence in the early 1990’s, with support from her employer, she went public and soon became well known for her efforts to raise awareness on mental health issues. Tipper Gore invited her to speak at the White House Conference on Mental Health after hearing West speak at a Town Hall meeting in Arizona.

The Honorable Charles Rangel
U.S. House of Representatives, New York 
Co-Chair, Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee 

The Honorable Howard Dean 
Governor of Vermont 

Luther Vandross with the DNC Choir and Orchestra

  7:00 p.m. 
Caroline Kennedy Schlossberg

The Honorable Edward Kennedy
United States Senator, Massachusetts 

The Honorable Martha Escutia
State Senator, California 

The Honorable BILL BRADLEY
Former United States Senator, New Jersey

United States Representative, Tennessee


The Democratic National Committee Choir and Orchestra 

Dr. Robert Wexler of Los Angeles, California
President, University of Judaism