December 18, 2000--The Electoral College Meets
State House   Annapolis, Maryland

"We are going to deliver 10 votes for Al Gore and pray that three other electors see the light."
Maryland's ten Democratic electors, one for each of the states eight congressional districts and two at-large, met at 11:00 a.m. at the State House in Annapolis. 

After the electors were sworn in, the president of the Electoral College (selected in an earlier caucus), Thomas V. Mike Miller, who happens to be State Senate president, gave a short speech, which included some pointed references to the recent election controversy.  "We know who won the election," he declared.  Miller noted Gore's victory in the popular vote, and said that the margin had come from Maryland.  He joked with Gov. Parris Glendening that, "I became president of a college before you did." 

The Secretary of the Electoral College, Gregory Pecoraro then asked each elector who they were voting for for President.  Everything went according to plan as each voted for Al Gore.  Next came the vote for Vice President.  Again there were no surprises as each voted for Joe Lieberman.  signing the certificates


Before the meeting formally began electors signed souvenir programs.  Elector Ida Taylor (above) wore earrings made from Gore-Lieberman campaign buttons and a "Maryland You Are Beautiful" scarf. Electors Gene W. Counihan and Clarence W. Blount share a light moment.
Secretary of State John Willis and Gov. Parris Glendening. The certificates must be done in sextuplicate.

Who are the Electors?
1st CD--Mary Ann E. Love of Glen Burnie (Anne Arundel County) is a member of the House of Delegates representing District 32. She was appointed to fill the seat in 1993 and won elections in 1994 and 1998.  Previously she worked in Anne Arundel County  government.  "I was born a Democrat," she declared.  Love served as a member of the Anne Arundel Democratic Central Committee in 1990 and had Al Gore speak at their Jefferson-Jackson Dinner.

2nd CD--Ina Taylor of Bel Air (Harford County) coordinated the county for Gov. Glendening and for Clinton-Gore in 1992 and 1996.

3rd CD--Howard Friedman of Baltimore is chairman of Circa Capital, an investment-banking firm, and is president
of the Baltimore Jewish Council.  He raised money for the DNC and Gore-Lieberman, chaired a Lieberman fundraiser in Baltimore in October.  Friedman was a delegate to the 2000 Democratic National Convention.

4th CD--Beatrice P. Tignor of Upper Marlboro (P.G. Country) is a former State Senator.  Tignor is a Democratic National Committeeperson who serves on the credentials committee.  She is director of procurement for Montgomery County, and taught English at Prince George's Community College from 1970-95.  She was a delegate to the 1992, 1996 and 2000 Democratic National Conventions.

5th CD--Mary Butler Murphy of Cheltenham has been the Prince George's County Democratic Central Committee chair since 1998.  After working 25 years for the telephone company, she retired from Bell Atlantic in 1994.  She was active in the Communications Workers of America and Maryland AFL-CIO COPE.  She has been a delegate at two Democratic National Conventions.

6th CD--Gregory Pecoraro of Westminster has been a member of the State Central Committee since 1982 and active in Democratic politics since high school.  He is one of four Democratic National Committeepersons from Maryland.  He ran the statewide Democratic coordinated campaign in 1992.  Pecoraro is Assistant Secretary of the Maryland Department of Transportation.

7th CD--Clarence W. Blount of Baltimore City has been a member of the State Senate since 1971, and has served as the Majority Leader in the Senate since 1983.  He was a delegate to the 1988, '92, '96 and 2000 Democratic National Conventions.

8th CD--Gene W. Counihan of Montgomery Village.  A former member of the House of Delegates, Counihan is government relations officer (lobbyist) for WMATA.

At-Large--Mary Jo Neville of Silver Spring has served as vice chair of the Maryland Democratic Party since 1995 and is also currently treasurer of the Association of State Democratic Chairs.  She is also a lobbyist for the Maryland State Teachers Association.  Neville was a delegate to the 2000 Democratic National Convention and was a member of the DNC from 1982-92.  She did her first campaigning as a sophomore in high school, backing George McGovern.

At-Large--Thomas V. Mike Miller of Clinton has been a member of the State Senate since 1975 and Senate President since 1987.  He served in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1971-75.