INDIANA 12 Electoral Votes
(Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Indiana Secretary of State)
Total Population, April 1, 2000 6,080,485
Voting Age Population, Nov. 2000 4,448,000 % change from '96 +2.5
Total Registration, Oct. 10, 2000 4,000,809
Indiana has: 92 counties.
Five largest counties: Marion, Lake, Allen, St. Joseph, Elkhart.
Five largest cities: Indianapolis, Fort Wayne, Evansville, Gary, South Bend.

Governor: Frank O'Bannon (D) up for re-election in 2000.
State Legislature: Indiana General Assembly  House: 53D, 47R  Senate: 19D, 31R
Local: Counties  NACO Counties
U.S. House: 6R,4D - 1. P.Visclosky (D) | 2. D.McIntosh (R) | 3. T.Roemer (D) | 4. M.Souder (R) | 5. S.Buyer (R) | 6. D.Burton (R) | 7. E.Pease (R) | 8. J.Hostettler (R) | 9. B.Hill (D) | 10. J.Carson (D)
U.S. Senate: Dick Lugar (R) up for re-election in 2000, Evan Bayh (D) elected 1998. 
Changes as of the November 2000 Elections
Governor: Frank O'Bannon (D) won re-election over David McIntosh (R) and Andrew Horning (L).
State Legislature: All 100 House seats and 25 of 50 Senate seats up.  Partisan balance in the House remained the same while Republicans picked up a seat in the Senate.  House 53D, 47R  Senate 18D, 32R.
U.S. House: Republicans retained two seats left open by retirements: 2. M.Pence (R); 7. B.Kerns (R)
U.S. Senate: Dick Lugar (R) won re-election over David L. Johnson (D) and Paul Hager (L).

The Hoosier State

 State of Indiana
Secretary of State

IN Democratic Party
IN Republican State Comm.
Libertarian Party of IN
Natural Law Party of IN
Reform Party of IN
St. Joe Valley Greens
Constitution Party of IN

Indianapolis Star/News
Media (Newsp.)
Media (TV)


General Election -- Tuesday, November 7, 2000
Past Results
Dole (Rep.).........1,006,693 
Clinton (Dem.).......887,424 
Perot (Ref.)............224,299
Others (1+w/ins).....17,426

Bush (Rep.)...........989,375 (42.91)
Clinton (Dem.).......848,420 (36.79)
Perot (Ind.) ...........455,934 (19.77)

Gore/Lieberman (Dem.)
Browne/Olivier (Lib.)
+Bush/Cheney (Rep.)
Buchanan/Foster (Ind.)
Nader/LaDuke (w/in)
Hagelin/Goldhaber (w/in)
Phillips/Frazier (w/in)
David McReynolds (w/in)
J.Schriner, K.R. Judd, D.H. Birchler, E.L. Easton, G.D. Strickland (w/ins)

Turnout as a percentage of voting age population was 49.44%.  (U.S. avg. 53.76%)...l
Petition candidates were required to obtain signatures of 30,716 registered voters (2% of the votes received for Sec. of State in 1998).  Nader petitions contained only 15,891 valid signatures, so the Indiana Election Commission in its Aug. 24 meeting declined to place Nader on the ballot.

Bush-Cheney won Indiana's 12 electoral votes with a plurality of 343,856 votes (15.65 percentage points), carrying 86 of the state's 92 counties.  Gore won in Lake (Gary), LaPorte and St. Joseph (South Bend) counties in the Northwest corner of the state, as well as in Perry, Scott, and Vermillion. 

Gov. Bush made a couple of visits to the state: on Sept. 6 he did an airport rally and a Republican Party reception in Indianapolis, and on Oct. 27, on his Michigan Bus tour, he did an airport departure in South Bend. 

For the Democratic ticket, Sen. Lieberman delivered a major address on faith and values at the University of Notre Dame in South Bend on Oct. 24.

Indiana Code--Title 3. Elections.
Primary Date:   Tuesday, May 2, 2000

Overall turnout was 19%.
Republican Primary
Total Vote Percent
+George W. Bush 330,095 81.17%
John McCain 76,569 18.83%
Total 406,664

Total Delegates
55 of 2,066 (2.7%).
Democratic Primary
Total Vote Percent
Bill Bradley 64,339 21.95%
+Al Gore 219,604 74.91%
Lyndon H. LaRouche, Jr.
Total 293,172

Total Pledged Delegates
72 of 3,537 (2.0%).
Total Delegates
89 of 4,335 (2.1%).

Copyright 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action.